



# Arantzazutik mundu zabalera (1968-2018) [From Arantzazu to the world] XVII Euskaltzaindia Congress

October 4 and 5, 2018 (morning and afternoon), and October 6 (morning) Center for events and meetings "Arantzazu-Gandiaga". Oñati (Gipuzkoa)

#### Description

In 2018 and 2019, 100 years may have passed since the creation of the Royal Academy of the Basque Language-Euskaltzaindia. Throughout these 100 years, the sections for research "*lker*" and Tutelary "*Jagon*" of the Academy have channeled many initiatives around the Basque language. These initiatives will be remembered in the extensive Centennial program. Among them, there are the following: the 50th anniversary of that Arantzazu Congress in 1968, one of the main milestones in the creation of the *Euskara batua* or unified Basque language. This Congress wants to show the path that unified Basque language has taken since then, reflect on the work done up to this moment, and identify the work to be done in the future. The Academy of the Basque language wants to look to the future without losing sight of what has been done in these last 50 years. For that purpose, it is essential to gather in this Congress the opinions and contributions of those public, private and social organizations that are working in the field of Basque.

## Addressed to

- Language professionals: writers, journalists, lecturers, translators, researchers...
- Managers and technicians working in public bodies.
- Managers and technicians working in Basque organizations.
- General public.

#### Call for paper submissions

- Title: title of the paper.
- Authors: names and surnames.
- Information: research centers and groups, organizations...
- Abstract: a summary of the communication will be submitted with a maximum of 500 words (bibliographic references provided in the summary will not be included in the word count).
- Format: PDF, Times New Roman, 12.
- Contact details: email and phone number.
- Fields:
- Creation and development of unified Basque language from a sociohistorical or sociolinguistic view, among others...
- Morphosyntactic characteristics of unified Basque.
- Dictionary of unified Basque.
- Semantics and pragmatics of unified Basque.
- Unified Basque and onomastics.
- Unified Basque and Basque dialectology.
- Future challenges of unified Basque in education.
- Future challenges of unified Basque in legislation and public administration.
- Future challenges of unified Basque in the media.
- Future challenges of unified Basque in the digital environment.
- Future challenges of unified Basque in translation and literature.
- The future of unified Basque in the professional field.





#### Notes

- The Congress will be held in Basque. Papers may also be presented in Spanish, French or English. A simultaneous interpretation service will be offered.
- Authors working in more than one field may submit more than one proposal.
- The summaries of the papers may specify the field of each proposal.
- Deadline for paper submission: June 30th 2018.
- Proposals must be sent to the following email: komunikazioak@euskaltzaindia.eus
- The Scientific Committee will evaluate the summaries of the submitted papers and will publish a list of selected papers.
- Before July 13, the authors of the selected papers will receive an email.
- Before September 7, selected authors may be informed about the date and time for their presentations.
- In case there is no time to present all the selected papers in the Congress, they will all be included in the minutes of the Congress.

## **Scientific Committee**

- President: Andres Urrutia (President of Euskaltzaindia Deusto University).
- Secretary: Adolfo Arejita (full member of the academy Head of the Research Section Deusto University).
- Members:
  - Miren Azkarate (full member of the academy University of the Basque Country).
  - Jean Baptiste Coyos (full member of the academy Head of the Tutelary Section).
  - Roberto González de Viñaspre (full member of the academy Basque Institute for Public Administration).
  - Jabier Kaltzakorta (full member of the academy Deusto University).
  - Andoni Sagarna (full member of the academy).
  - Patxi Salaberri (full member of the academy Public University of Navarre).
  - Ana Toledo (full member of the academy Deusto University).
  - Miriam Urkia (full member of the academy UZEI).
  - Xarles Videgain (Vice-president of Euskaltzaindia University of Pau and the Pays de l'Adour).
  - Patxi Zabaleta (full member of the academy).
  - Mikel Zalbide (full member of the academy).

# **Organization Committee**

- Iñaki Mendizabal.
- Erramun Osa.
- Xabier Paya.
- Ibon Usarralde.
- Joseba Zabaleta.